2021 Pearl Award Winner

Culture of Philanthropy

Dr. McGeeThe Pearl Award was presented to Dr. James McGee, radiation oncologist, medical director radiation therapy and oncology service line director, during our inaugural Central Region Culture of Philanthropy Celebration on Monday, November 1. The regional celebrations were a new addition to our annual Culture of Philanthropy Celebration where five distinguished leaders from each region were honored. Recognition and excellence awards were presented to each regional honoree for their commitment to the culture of philanthropy and for their dedication to advance the OSF Mission to ‘serve with the greatest care and love.’ To read more about each regional honoree, please click here.

The main highlight of our Central Region celebration was the announcement of the Pearl Award. The Pearl Award, established by the OSF HealthCare Foundation, recognizes contributions to philanthropic excellence, compassionate care and visionary leadership that will transform health care.  The award is named in honor of Dr. Rick Pearl, former director of pediatric trauma and surgeon in-chief at OSF HealthCare Children’s Hospital of Illinois in recognition of his profound demonstration of the culture of philanthropy and his relationships and involvement with the Foundation.

Dr. McGee’s visionary thinking and passion for improving the quality and safety of cancer care reflects the OSF HealthCare vision of transforming care to improve the lives of those we serve. He has been instrumental in raising millions of dollars in support of the new OSF HealthCare Cancer Institute, which will serve all patients regardless of ability to pay.  You can support the work of Dr. McGee and the OSF HealthCare Cancer Institute by learning more here.